Minnesota DWI Attorney
When you’ve been arrested for DWI, it is important to call an experienced Minnesota DWI Attorney right away in order to avoid giving up certain rights including the right to challenge your driver’s license revocation or cancellation, avoiding the ignition interlock requirement and many other collateral consequences of DWI charges.
DWI charges in Minnesota can involve numerous consequences and penalties including:
- Mandatory Ignition Interlock
- Driver’s License Revocation
- Driver’s License Cancellation
- License Plate Impoundment
- Vehicle Forfeiture/Seizure
- Mandatory alcohol/drug treatment
Minnesota law allows the Police to arrest and charge you with DWI if your blood alcohol content is .08 or more, or .04 or more if they believe you are under the influence or alcohol, or if the police think that you are under the influence of drugs, or if they think you are under the influence and you refuse to submit to testing or are determined to have not complied with a test, according to the police officer.
Aggravating factors include:
- A prior DWI conviction
- A prior alcohol-related loss of license
- A blood alcohol content of .16 or more
- A child under 16 years of age who was in the car at the time of your arrest (if the child is more than 36 months younger than the driver of the vehicle)
- An accident that results in physical injuries to anyone other than the driver
How can a DWI lawyer help me?
Pleading guilty is not your only option. You have the right to challenge the basis for the initial police contact, the basis to arrest you for suspicion of DWI, the right to challenge admissibility of evidence (for a variety of reasons) and the right to be presumed innocent of the charges and present your case to a jury or a judge for a determination of whether or not you are guilty of the DWI. It is important that the police follow certain procedures and laws before arresting someone for DWI. For these reasons, it is critical to hire an experienced DWI Defense Attorney to protect your rights and fight the DWI charge.
Call 24hrs for free DWI advice
Anthony M. Grostyan, Esq. 612-341-6575
DWI Articles & Information
DWI Blood, Breath, or Urine Test Refusal
2013 Minnesota Statutes Chapter 169A
First Offense DWI in Minnesota
10 Things to Know if Stopped for a DUI
Who Needs to Use an Ignition Interlock Device
Consequences of a DWI Probation Violation