Minnesota Degrees of DWI charges
Minnesota DWI laws require mandatory minimum fines and jail sentences if you have previously been convicted of a DWI offense or an alcohol-related revocation or cancellation of your driver’s license. In addition to mandatory fines and jail sentences, prior offenses can result in vehicle forfeiture or seizure, license plate impoundment and the requirement that any vehicle you operate be equipped with an ignition interlock device.
Fourth Degree DWI
Fourth Degree DWI is a misdemeanor and carries a penalty of up to 90 days in jail and/or a $1,000 fine. In addition to these penalties, you may be required to complete a chemical dependency evaluation and follow the recommendations of that assessment. Also, you may be ordered to attend a MADD impact panel and, before you can obtain a work permit or reinstate your driver’s license, you’ll have to pay a reinstatement fee of $711.50.
Third Degree DWI
Third Degree DWI is a gross misdemeanor and carries a penalty of up to 365 days in jail and/or a $3,000 fine. Additionally, this charge can include a mandatory jail sentence of at least 30 days, a $900 fine and license plate impoundment and ignition interlock on your vehicle for one year.
Second Degree DWI
Second Degree DWI includes the same penalties of a third degree DWI and can also include a 90 day mandatory jail sentence and vehicle forfeiture.
First Degree DWI
First Degree DWI is a felony and, if convicted, you can be sentenced to up to seven years in prison and/or a fine of $14,000.
In Minnesota, you can be charged with gross misdemeanor DWI charges (third or second degree) if certain “aggravating factors” exist in your case. These include: 1) alleged test refusal; 2) a prior DWI conviction or alcohol-related loss of driver’s license privileges; 3) a blood-alcohol content test result of .16% or more or 4) a child under 16 years of age (but not less than 36 months younger than the Defendant-driver) in the vehicle.
However, to support a charge of First degree felony DWI, the person must have three or more DWI convictions or alcohol-related loss of driver’s license incidents within ten years or a previous conviction of a felony DWI.
If you are facing DWI felony DWI charges, you must consult with an experienced DWI defense lawyer as soon as possible. Call Anthony M. Grostyan, Esq. at 612-341-6575 for a free DWI consultation.