Penalties for Under 21 DWI in Minnesota
Minnesota has a zero tolerance approach for drivers under the age of 21 when it comes to DWI—meaning that even a 0.01% BAC can be grounds for a conviction with penalties of up to 90 days in jail, driver’s license suspension and a $1,000 fine. If an underage driver is caught with an alcohol level of less than 0.08%, the incident will not be counted as a prior DWI conviction for purposes of enhancing a subsequent DWI charge.
Minnesota’s drinking age laws prohibit persons younger than 21 from the following:
- Consuming alcohol without parental consent and supervision.
- Purchasing or attempting to purchase alcoholic beverages.
- Possessing alcohol with the intention of consuming.
- Entering a liquor store with an intent to purchase alcohol.
- Using a false ID to purchase alcohol.
Call a DWI lawyer for free advice and information regarding defenses to a charge of underage DWI.
Charged with underage DWI in Minnesota?
DWI charges can affect future employment opportunities and college applications.
Contact a DWI Defense Attorney to protect your criminal and DMV record and to avoid many collateral consequences of DWI charges.