Gun laws across the country are the current subject of much heated debate. Knowing the laws in your state and how they may be changing is extremely important to ensure you are within the law while carrying and transporting your weapon.
In the state of Minnesota, you must have a permit to purchase a gun and must have an additional permit to carry a gun on your persons. However, having a gun or carry permit does not mean you can carry your gun anywhere you choose. If you have been accused of unlawful possession or carrying of a gun, contact a Minnesota criminal defense attorney before answering any questions posed by an officer.
Circumstances in Minnesota Where Carrying a Gun is Considered Illegal
- Within a courthouse or non-designated government facility
- Places where children are or could be present, such as a school or daycare center
- Jail or penitentiary
- State run hospitals
- State parks or recreation areas
- In public places such as churches where carrying a gun is stated as prohibited
- Private property where the property owner has stated guns are prohibited
Possible Penalties for Carrying Without a Permit
If you are facing charges of carrying a weapon in one of these areas or if you are caught carrying a gun without a permit, this is considered a gross misdemeanor charge. This charge can result in fines up to $3,000 and/or up to 365 days of jail time depending on the circumstances. A full description of penalties associated with carrying a gun without a permit in Minnesota can be found here.
Individuals Not Permitted to Carry a Weapon or Apply for a Permit
- Those under the age of 21
- Those with listed in criminal database as gang affiliated
- Non-U.S citizens
- Those who are currently out on bail awaiting trial
- Those with protective orders against them including certain types of restraining orders
- Those who have been convicted of certain crimes
If you have been accuse of unlawful possession or transportation of a weapon, please contact an attorney with Grostyan & Associates as soon as you are able. Answering any questions presented to you by the police before speaking with an attorney could detrimentally affect your case. Your first consultation with one of our attorneys is free of charge.