Today, driving while under the influence is an offense met with zero-tolerance policies in many states across the country. Minnesota is one of them. A first offense driver charged with a DWI if their blood alcohol content is over 0.08 can face consequences of up to 90 days in jail, a $1000 fine, up to a 180 day license suspension, and an Interlock Ignition Device installed in their car which will not allow the engine to start if it detects a certain amount of alcohol. If the test result is over .20 then the potential penalties include up to a $3,000 fine and/or one year in jail and a one year (365 day) license revocation.
Minors driving under the influence facing penalty should refer to a Minnesota DWI Lawyer to help mitigate the damages, because a minor receives harsher treatment.
A minor charged with DWI could not only be victim to the treatment on a first offense of all of the above, (with the added bonus that for a minor any trace of alcohol found during the chemical test is grounds to be charged with a DWI) they will have the charge on their record for the rest of their lives, could face 90 days in jail, and suspension of their license.
The consequences of what is commonly referred to as the “not a drop” law are serious. An experienced DWI attorney can help you defend against these charges and can potentially get the charges dismissed or reduced, depending on the circumstances.
The only way to avoid these serious consequences is to hire an experienced, aggressive DWI attorney who knows how to defend you. Contact us for a free consultation.