The short answer is yes. For good reason, the judge presiding over your divorce or child custody case will take into consideration whether or not domestic abuse has occurred. The evidence presented could cause you to lose custody and/or visitation rights. Therefore, if you have been accused of Minnesota domestic assault charges, it is important to …Continue reading "Will My Minnesota Domestic Assault Charges Affect My Child Custody Case?"
In addition to jail, fines, probation and the loss of driving privileges, Minnesota DWI laws also allow for the police to seize the vehicle being driven at the time of the DWI arrest, regardless of whether or not the owner was driving the vehicle. According to Minnesota Statute Section 169A.63 the following situations can …Continue reading "DWI Vehicle Seizure"
Should I talk to the police? People frequently ask – “Should I talk to the police?” If an officer calls you or asks you to call them or approaches you in person, the answer is always “no.” Often, when being questioned by the police, that if they cooperate and answer the officer’s questions it will …Continue reading "Why You Shouldn’t Talk to the Police"
Minnesota Ignition Interlock Ignition Interlock is a device that is installed into a vehicle for the purpose of measuring the driver’s blood-alcohol concentration (BAC). In order to start the vehicle, the driver must provide a breath sample into the device. If the driver’s BAC is .02 or less, the vehicle will start. Under Minnesota DWI …Continue reading "Ignition Interlock DWI Criminal Defense"
Under both state law and the federal constitution, police officers are required to meet certain threshold requirements before they pull a vehicle over. If an officer fails to meet these requirements, a charge could be dismissed. The Fourth Amendment of the United States Constitution imposes a few basic requirements. First, before an officer can pull …Continue reading "Traffic Stop Law Basics in Minnesota"
The Minnesota State Court of Appeals ruled last week that a Roseville man’s DWI arrest was invalid, even though his voluntary urine test was positive for being over the legal limit. This unusual case gets to the heart of the constitution and emphasizes the importance of having an experienced DWI attorney to protect your rights. …Continue reading "State Court of Appeals Reverses DWI Arrest for Roseville Man"
On May 14th the Second Chance bill was signed to law by Governor Mark Dayton. This bill will go into effect on Jan 1, 2015 and will allow criminal records to be sealed or expunged for some reformed offenders. The goal is to allow people to turn their lives around. Often previous arrests or convictions …Continue reading "What is The Second Chance Law?"
Last week, the Minnesota Supreme Court ruled that it was proper to suspend the license of a woman who drove drunk, even though she was fleeing her abusive husband at the time. On Wednesday, May 21, the court announced that it had split 4-3, with several “sharply worded dissents,” on the issue, according to the …Continue reading "MN Supreme Court Reaches Controversial Drunk Driving Decision"
Erin Henderson, a former linebacker for the Minnesota Vikings, pleaded guilty to a misdemeanor DWI charge earlier this month. Henderson was released from the team in February after his second alleged DWI incident. Henderson pleaded guilty May 5 in Carver County Court. He was fined $1,000 and was sentenced to 2 years of probation. The …Continue reading "Former Minnesota Vikings Player Erin Henderson Pleads Guilty To DWI"
Minnesota Degrees of DWI charges Minnesota DWI laws require mandatory minimum fines and jail sentences if you have previously been convicted of a DWI offense or an alcohol-related revocation or cancellation of your driver’s license. In addition to mandatory fines and jail sentences, prior offenses can result in vehicle forfeiture or seizure, license plate impoundment …Continue reading "Minnesota Degrees of DWI charges"